Mondo Trasho

A project by Sabrina Fernández Casas

in collaboration with Jorge Raka, Veronica Luyo & Alvaro Icaza, Isabel Guerrero

Website design: Fabien Duperrex, Logotype: Leo Pantoja

Opening April 9th, 2022, 5pm, with performance by Jorge Raka, 6.30pm

April 23rd, Artist Talk and Finissage

Home

MONDO TRASHO FINAL copy.JPG

Im Jahr 2017 erwarb Sabrina Fernández die informelle Lizenz und das komplette Inventar eines Raubkopien-Filmladens in Peru namens Mondo Trasho, bestehend aus ungefähr 5.000 Filmen im DVD-Format, die neben Mainstream-Filmen eine erstaunliche Sammlung von B-Movies umfassen, unabhängig Filme, Amateurfilme, queere Filme, Kunstauswahl und Dokumentationen.

Mondo Trasho war ein emblematischer unabhängiger Laden in Lima, der bis zum Aufkommen von Streaming-Plattformen florierte. Als das Internet schneller und die Inhalte digital wurden, wurden DVDs obsolet und Mondo Trasho hörte auf, profitabel zu sein. Der Besitzer kündigte den Verkauf seines Inventars an, gerade als Sabrina in Peru war, um eine Residency zu machen, und nachdem sie viele E-Mails ausgetauscht hatte, wurde sie die neue Besitzerin von Mondo Trasho.  

Unter der Prämisse: „Anstatt aus Nutzern macht uns der Kapitalismus zu Konsumenten, tötet die Möglichkeit zu experimentieren und Erfahrungen und Wissen auszutauschen“, verwandelte Sabrina Mondo Trasho in ein kollektives Projekt, das das Filmarchiv ständig aktiviert und interveniert, um Kunstwerke und neues Wissen zu generieren und Erfahrungen.  

Der Logik der Piraterie folgend gewährt Sabrina freien Zugang zum gesamten Katalog von Mondo Trasho und zu ihrem eigenen, daraus abgeleiteten grafischen Werk: 55 Künstlerbücher, die mit den Originalkopien der DVD-Cover erstellt wurden. Sie hat auch die Künstler Jorge Raka, Veronica Luyo & Alvaro Icaza und Isabel Guerrero eingeladen, Kunstwerke und Artefakte aus dem Filmarchiv (das sich immer noch in Peru befindet) zu schaffen. Die entstandenen Arbeiten sind auf der Website zu sehen, die Fabien Duperrex und der Künstler für das Projekt gestaltet haben (Ähnlichkeiten zu Netflix sind kein Zufall ;)).

Die Ausstellung in la_cápsula besteht aus der Installation der 55 Bücher von Fernández Casas und einem Raum zum Navigieren auf der Website von Mondo Trasho. Besucher können sich auf Kissen setzen, die die Künstlerin aus den Plastiktüten gefertigt hat, die das Filmarchiv enthielten, als sie es zum ersten Mal kaufte – und die Menschen, die auf einem Straßenmarkt in Lateinamerika waren, sehr vertraut sein werden.

 

Am Eröffnungstag der Ausstellung findet eine Performance von Jorge Raka statt, die den Begriff der Piraterie und die Idee der „Kopie der Kopie“ weiter erforscht.  

 

Mondo Trasho und die Kunstwerke/Interventionen darum herum sind eine kollektive Reflexion der in Lateinamerika existierenden Systeme der informellen Wirtschaft, die Praktiken wie Piraterie normalisiert haben. Gleichzeitig ist es eine scharfe Kritik am Kapitalismus und der von ihm geförderten Privatisierung von Wissen. 

Trailer-Performance Jorge Raka

Mondo Trasho

A project by Sabrina Fernández Casas

in collaboration with Jorge Raka, Veronica Luyo & Alvaro Icaza, Isabel Guerrero

Website design: Fabien Duperrex, Logotype: Leo Pantoja 

Opening April 9th, 2022, 5pm, with performance by Jorge Raka, 6.30pm

April 23rd, Artist Talk and Finissage, 6pm

home

MONDO TRASHO FINAL copy.JPG

In 2017, Sabrina Fernández acquired the informal license and the complete inventory of a pirated-film shop in Peru called Mondo Trasho, consisting of approximately 5'000 films in DVD format which besides mainstream movies, include an amazing collection of B-movies, independent films, amateur films, queer films, art selections and documentaries.

Mondo Trasho was an emblematic independent store in Lima, which thrived until the arrival of streaming platforms. As internet became faster and content became digital, DVDs became obsolete and Mondo Trasho stopped being profitable. The owner announced the sale of his inventory just as Sabrina was in Peru doing a residency, and after exchanging many emails, she became the new owner of Mondo Trasho. 

Under the premise: "instead of users, capitalism turns us into consumers, killing the opportunity to experiment, and exchange experiences and knowledge”, Sabrina transformed Mondo Trasho into a collective project that constantly activates and intervenes the film archive to generate artworks, new knowledge and experiences. 

Following the logic of piracy, Sabrina gives free access to the entire catalogue of Mondo Trasho and to her own graphic work derived from it: 55 artists books made with the original copies of the DVD covers. She has also invited artists Jorge Raka, Veronica Luyo & Alvaro Icaza and Isabel Guerrero to create artworks and artefacts derived from the film archive (which is still located in Peru). The resulting works can be seen in the website that Fabien Duperrex and the artist designed for the project (similarities to Netflix are not coincidental ;)).

The exhibition at la_cápsula consists of the installation of the 55 books made by Fernández Casas, and a room to navigate the website of Mondo Trasho. Visitors will be able to sit down in cushions made by the artists from the plastic bags that contained the film archive when she first bought it — and which will be very familiar to people who have been in a street market in Latin America.

 

A performance by Jorge Raka, further exploring the notion of piracy and the idea of "the copy of the copy" will take place on the opening day of the exhibition. 

 

Mondo Trasho and the artworks/interventions around it are a collective reflection of the systems of informal economy that exist in Latin America, which have normalised practices such as piracy. At the same time, it is a strong criticism against capitalism and the privatisation of knowledge that it promotes. 

Trailer Performance Jorge Raka